Clean Eats = Clean Teeth (and my favorite oral products)

Surprisingly, cutting down (way down) on sugar and grains in my diet, as well as eating real & nutritious whole foods,  has made a HUGE difference in how clean my teeth and mouth feel! My teeth don’t get those little “teeth sweaters” you start to get around 6 months after your last cleaning, and I have barely ANY plaque buildup. It has been a drastic and unexpected benefit of my #lowcrapdiet lifestyle, and just one more reason I’ll never go back to eating the old way again! I LOVE my clean teeth!! Because of dental insurance changes, I have not been to my dentist for over a year, and I promise my teeth still feel like they were just cleaned. No joke. It’s crazy! Another part of this “clean feeling” is because I found the greatest toothbrush a few months ago at Expo East. We bought 2 at the expo, for hubs and son, then the company contacted me and sent me 2 more to try. Before mine arrived, I asked my 8 year old son what he thought about his new toothbrush he had been using since we got back from the Expo. I promise you this was his honest-to-God reply: “it feels like when you get your teeth cleaned at the dentist”. I was shocked, and anxious for mine to get here! And when it did, I had the exact same reaction, and so did my 14 year old daughter. We all flipped over our toothbrushes!:) Hubs liked his too, he just didn’t think it was quite as “amazing” as the other 3 did. So, 3 out of 4 for amazing is pretty good, eh?! It’s not electric, or anything fancy. I can’t explain the science behind it, but I know it works. And I appreciate the silver infused bristles, because we were already using silver for antimicrobial benefits around our house.  I am really excited to share this great find with you, and I think everyone should try it!

toothbrush

You can find these at www.mouthwatchers.net and they’re only $4.99! They’re also on Amazon and in some Whole Foods and other retailers (website has locations). On that website, there are video testimonials from lots of other people who feel the same way we do about this amazing little brush!

And another favorite, is this Spry dental floss. I may do a post later, but for now just know it cleans between teeth like nothing else. I can’t explain why or how, I just know I love it!  We have also been using this toothpaste, so if anyone wants a review of this very unusual stuff, comment below and I’ll reply.

In my many hours of researching healthy and natural approaches to taking care of my family, I have come across some pretty shocking information. Did you know cavities can be reversed?! And did you know coconut oil can be used to detox your mouth? Crazy, I know, but keep an open mind and read for yourself! Here is a link to an unusual method for cleaning your teeth and detoxing your mouth, called “oil pulling”.  There is also much more information on natural oral care, and the dangers of fluoride, so go check it out. Now for that cavity thing, we are currently working on re-mineralizing my son’s tooth that has a cavity in it. So far, I can see white coming back around the brown spot, but I think it’s too soon to “call it” just yet. I am going to add oil pulling to his oral health routine and I will let you know if we get rid of the cavity. Here is a link at Wellness Mama all about healing cavities and making home-made tooth powder, if you want to know more before I post my own story. I have been amazed at all I have learned about healing teeth, and how nutrition plays a humongous role in keeping cavities away in the first place. I don’t remember a dentist (I’ve only had 2 my whole life) ever telling me how important food was in keeping my teeth healthy and nourished. Has your dentist ever told you? And has anyone tried oil pulling or any other “natural” oral health care practices? I’d love to hear what you may be doing in your family!

Here’s one more link to a (somewhat controversial) book that many are using to heal teeth naturally.

Encouraging Oral Health,

Organic Eater

Encouraging Comments or Questions: